40 Books to Read

When I was a kid, I used to read voraciously. Mostly teen adult books, mind you, but fiction that definitely helped keep my spelling and understanding of English among the best in my class. As a teen, and like many other people, I slowly lost interest as reading became assigned solely to school materials and proofreading assessments, and television and the internet took it’s place as the main source of entertainment.

When I began to look on the internet for answers to my problems regarding relationships, I didn’t realise that the subsequent avalanche of articles, novels and informative books about to be levelled my way would help me become a better man. How could I? This was stuff outside of the television, old and new wisdom reimagined and repackaged for the new generations. From solvemygirlproblems.com to The Rational Male to the rest of the manosphere and back again, I found all of the information I had always touched on in experience but never fully understood. The only catch? I had to start using my brain again and actually read and apply it, instead of watching a short how to Youtube video.

Over the course of over a year now, I have read and digested nearly every Rational Male article I could find as well as Shark’s seminal posts on Game and the Red Pill. Throughout these posts, I have found many references and recommendations for source material to read to better understand the concepts presented. I was encouraged to critically reflect on what I read, see the research linking it, and decide for myself. I began reading additional books, skimmed over case studies looking for evidence of bias or influence, and devoured any information I could find on intergender dynamics. I had unleashed my inner bookworm, and he was starving.

That being said, I still have a long way to go in fitness, understanding the world around me and myself, and most certainly Game.

So with that in mind, I have compiled a series of books in different genres that I intend to read over the course of the next year or so, depending on how fast I finish them. I’m going to try and take a page from Danger And Play’s Don’t Waste Your Twenties;

In the meantime, make use of your 20′s. Your brains are fast. You won’t realize how fast until they slow down.

Even if your job is demanding, you should be finishing two books each month. Although non-fiction is superior to fiction, reading something is better than nothing. Do not let the best be the enemy of the good.” ~ Danger And Play


THE LIST

 

Psychology/ Game

The Rational Male by Rollo Tomassi (Always good to refresh)

30 second Psychology by Christian Jarrett

Why Men Need Sex and Women Need Love by Allan and Barbara Pease

The Way Of Men by Jack Donovan

The Gentleman’s Guide to Picking Up Women by Ian Ironwood

The Blank Slate: The Modern Denial of Human Nature by Steven Pinker

Tutorial

What every BODY is saying by Joe Navarro and Marvin Karlins

How To Make Small Talk by Mark Yuhas

The James Bond Cold Reading (Speed Learning) by Julian Moore

The Man Plan by James Kerley

Super Memory by Shakuntala Devi

10 STEPS TO BREAKING INTO ACTING by Matt Newton

Acting by Irwin Ossa

Neurobics Create your Own Brain Training Program

Think Smart Act Smart by D Bridger and C D Lewis

150 Things Every Man Should Know by Gareth May

Philosophy

The Art of War by Sun Tzu

Meditations by Marcus Aurelius

The Genesis Enigma by Andrew Parker

Philosophy in Minutes by Marcus Weeks

What does it All Mean? by Thomas Nagel

The Art of Happiness by the Dalai Lama (Not Buddhist, but it helps to get a different perspective.)

Widening the Circle of Love by the Dalai Lama

Science

How to Live Forever and 34 Other Really Interesting Uses of Science by Alok Jha

Science 1001 by Paul Parsons

Sci-fi /Fantasy

The Novice by Trudi Canavan

The Eye of the World (The Wheel of Time) by Robert Jordan

Small Shen by Kylie Chan

Vampire’s Blood by Darren Shan

Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

Galileo’s Dream by Kim Stanley Robinson

Enthralled by Marr and Armstrong

Control Point by Myke Cole

Little Vampire Women by Louisa May Alcott and Lynn Messina

Galaxy Battle League Part One by Tim O’Bree

Drama/THRILLER/Romance

Persuasion by Jane Austen

The Inferno by Dan Brown

The Professor by Charlotte Bronte

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Darkly Dreaming Dexter by Jeff Lindsay


 

Needless to say, there are some you will recognize and some you will not. I picked up a lot of these through booksales where they caught my eye, but a few were specifically suggested by popular Manosphere authors, so I’ll probably be knocking those off the list soon.

Depending on how they read, I’ll upload a review once I’ve finished a book. Hopefully that will mean more regular updates for you guys.

Keep Gaming,

Harkness.

Share your thoughts

